Find a clinic

Physical Therapy and Cancer Recovery?

2018/03/12 Home Education and advice

Physical Therapy and Cancer Recovery?

Nowadays, more and more individuals are surviving cancer due to extensive advancements in medicine, more effective treatments as well as substantially earlier detection. According to the Canadian Cancer Society, over 60% of individuals diagnosed with cancer will live for up to 5 years following their initial diagnosis. As such, cancer rehabilitation has become a growing area in modern medicine.

Whilst cancer treatments such as surgery, radiation, hormone and chemotherapy leave individuals free of cancer, they each come with their own set of challenges. Many individuals find it difficult to deal with these challenges; this is where cancer rehabilitation can come in handy. Scientific evidence shows that conservative management of cancer-treatment related symptoms through physiotherapy is an effective way of dealing and managing the physical trauma that cancer treatments leave on the body, either during or after the treatment. Physiotherapists specialized in this field can help alleviate your symptoms by creating a personal evaluation of your physical condition which will ultimately help you build an individual and specific exercise plan in order to regain your physical health.

Below are a few of the many complications of cancer treatment, as well as the methods a physiotherapist can use to manage and overcome them:

  • Cancer-related fatigue – energy conservation techniques, individualized aerobic and strength programs.
  • Lymphedema (swelling) – manual lymph drainage, bandaging, massage, mobility and aerobic exercises.
  • Pain – pain relief strategies, modalities, massage, stretching and strengthening.
  • Lack of mobility – mobility and stretching exercises, manual therapy.
  • Lack of strength – strengthening exercises.
  • Nerve damage – mobility exercises, stretches.
  • Incontinence – pelvic floor muscle strengthening.

It is never too late to utilize the services of a physiotherapist during your cancer recovery. Whether it is before, during or after your cancer treatments, a physiotherapist can help you accomplish your goals and improve your physical function in order to be the best you can possibly be throughout your journey.

If you have any questions pertaining to cancer treatments and physiotherapy, or if you’re looking for a professional’s advice on your path to recovery, come see a physiotherapist at Kinatex Rockland. It will be our pleasure to help you!

Make sure to check out our Facebook or YouTube page for relevant links.

 

Vanissa Savarimuthu,

Physiotherapist

Kinatex Sport Physio Côte-Vertu

 

 

References:

  • Alfano, C. M., Ganz, P. A., Rowland, J. H., & Hahn, E. E. (2012). Cancer Survivorshop and Cancer Rehabilitation Revitalizing the Link. Journal of Clinical Oncology. no 9. 904-906.
  • Canadian Cancer Society. Retrieved from http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/diagnosis-and-treatment/rehabilitation/?region=on)
  • Image retrieved from https://www.healthcitycaymanislands.com/clinical/medical/oncology/

Trouvez une clinique

Physiothérapie et rémission du cancer?

2018/03/12 Accueil Éducation et conseils

Physiothérapie et rémission du cancer?

De nos jours, de plus en plus d’individus se voient vaincre le cancer et ce en raison de progrès importants en médecine, de traitements plus efficaces et d’une détection sensiblement plus précoce. Selon la Société canadienne du cancer, plus de 60% des personnes atteintes de cancer peuvent espérer vivre jusqu’à cinq ans suite à leur diagnostic initial. La rémission du cancer est donc devenue un domaine en pleine croissance dans la médecine moderne.

Bien que les traitements contre le cancer telle la chirurgie, la radiothérapie, l’hormonothérapie et la chimiothérapie sont de plus en plus efficaces, ils entraînent chacun leur lot de défis. C’est ici que la physiothérapie axée sur la rémission du cancer tente à venir en aide; en effet, des preuves scientifiques démontrent qu’une gestion conservatrice des symptômes liés au traitement du cancer par la physiothérapie est un moyen efficace de traiter et de gérer le traumatisme physique que les traitements anticancéreux laissent sur le corps, que ce soit durant ou après le traitement. Les physiothérapeutes spécialisés dans ce domaine peuvent aider à soulager vos symptômes en effectuant une évaluation personnelle de votre condition physique qui, au final, vous aidera à construire un plan d’exercice spécifique à vos limitations afin de retrouver votre santé.

 

Vous trouverez ci-dessous de nombreuses complications que les traitements contre le cancer peuvent entraîner, ainsi que les méthodes par lesquelles un physiothérapeute peut aider à les gérer et les surmonter:

 

  • Fatigue liée au cancer – techniques de conservation de l’énergie, programmes individualisés d’aérobie et de force.
  • Lymphœdème (gonflement) – drainage lymphatique manuel, bandage, massage, mobilité et exercices aérobiques.
  • Douleur – stratégies de soulagement de la douleur, modalités, massage, étirement et renforcement.
  • Manque de mobilité – exercices de mobilité et d’étirement, thérapie manuelle.
  • Manque de force – exercices de renforcement.
  • Dommages aux nerfs – exercices de mobilité, étirements.
  • Incontinence – renforcement musculaire du plancher pelvien.

 

Il n’est jamais trop tard pour profiter des services d’un physiothérapeute lors de votre rétablissement. Que ce soit avant, pendant ou après vos traitements contre le cancer, un physiothérapeute peut vous aider à atteindre vos objectifs et à améliorer votre rééducation physique afin d’être le plus en santé possible tout au long de votre voyage.

Si vous avez des questions concernant la physiothérapie et la rémission du cancer, ou si vous recherchez l’avis d’un professionnel lors de votre cheminement vers la réhabilitation, venez voir un physiothérapeute chez Kinatex Rockland. Il nous fera un grand plaisir de vous aider!

Consultez aussi notre page Facebook ou YouTube pour des liens pertinents.

 

Vanissa  Savarimuthu,

Physiothérapeute

Kinatex Sport Physio Côte-Vertu

 

Références:

  • Alfano, C. M., Ganz, P. A., Rowland, J. H., & Hahn, E. E. (2012). Cancer Survivorshop and Cancer Rehabilitation Revitalizing the Link. Journal of Clinical Oncology. no 9. 904-906.
  • Société Canadienne du Cancer. Repéré à http://www.cancer.ca/en/cancer-information/diagnosis-and-treatment/rehabilitation/?region=on
  • Image repérée à https://www.healthcitycaymanislands.com/clinical/medical/oncology/

Trouvez une clinique

Voir toutes les cliniques sur une carte Voir toutes les cliniques sur une carte